top of page

the MAGIC within YOU !

Updated: Jul 30, 2021

_ PART 3 ...

The City of JEWELS

Manipūra Chakra or the Navel Centre

A Cosmic Door, situated about 2 inches above the sacral, on the spinal column in level with the navel, an entrance door to so many astral powers, a centre of HARA- the lion, feeding upon stability, balance, strength and activity. We call it the City of jewels, an exchange terminal for Un-conscious and the Sub-conscious to move towards the conscious and vice versa. This chakra is intricately linked with an individual’s psyche, which is related to one’s digestive fire, any change or disturbance at your psychic level leads to digestive problems. The two major pearls of this chakra are the ones that are closely associated with your SELF – the Self Awareness and Self Confidence, commonly the fear acts as the blockage for this chakra, also your “Gut-feelings” that mostly turn out to be correct, they evolved in this zone of your body… it’s own way of telling you what’s not right as this centre has the guiding tendencies governing it – the Viveka (power of discrimination).

The Navel centre acts as a gateway for an individual to finally reach the divine, for those who manage to conquer the fear there is an everlasting bliss waiting ahead. Its is the origination point of the love and happiness we often feel in our heart centre the Anāhata Chakra.

You can awaken this chakra with simple asana that directly work on you core, the abdominal region and the pranayama that help in awakening of the Samana Vayu, like Paschimottanasan (seated forward bend or the stretch of the west), Trikonasana (triangle pose), Shirangushtasana (head to toes sideways) and santulanasana (balancing pose) and Bhastrika, Nadi Shodhana, Ujjayi Pranayama can help in awakening of this chakra further.

COLOR Yellow, dedicated to fire and energy

TATTVA – Fire (tejas) dedicated to the purification, motherhood, digestive fire


SYMBOL – 10 Petal Lotus, dedicated to the ten Prana vayu namely Prana, Apana, Samana, Vyana, Udana, Naga, Koorma, Krikala, Devadatta and Dhananjaya. And awakening and Un-folding depicted through an inverted triangle.

ANIMAL – RAM, a symbol of Power, Activity, Patience, auspiciousness.

DIVINE – Lord Vishnu and Devi Lakshmi, one that depicts the Consciousness, Evolution and Fire, the other one that is a Symbol of Prosperity, happiness (deception of māyā).

PRANA – Samana – the balancing air, (distribution of nourishment), associated with substances, food, air, experience, emotions, and thoughts.

PLANE – Svarloka (svarga + loka), associated with heavenly or celestial plane

PLANET – Sun, depicting energy, power, nourishment, vibrant, purity, austerity

EMOTION – Positivity, Perseverance, Strength, Righteousness, fair and justice, the desire and courage to win and excel

METAL – Iron

MINERAL – Sulfur

STONE – Ruby

CHARACTERSTIC – Self Pride, Self Esteem, Self Confidence, wellbeing, nourishment

SENSATION – Hunger (Kshudha)

SENSE ORGAN – Visualization, the EYE (chakshu) associated with sun and sight

FEATURE – The form (rupa – the outer appearance)

TASTE – Spicy

QUALITY – Burning, art of Reversal or the Yoga of Dying as per tantric tradition

BODY PART – Feet, associated with movement and activeness

ORGAN – the Nerves (nadi)

GLAND – Pancreas

PLEXUS – Solar Plexus

ALTERNATE NAMES – Navel Centre, Fire Centre, Nābhi Kamala




bottom of page