top of page

the MAGIC within YOU !

Updated: Jul 30, 2021

_ PART 2 ...

The ABODE of the SELF !

Svādhishthāna or the SACRAL Chakra

मैत्रीकरुणामुदितोपेक्षाणां सुखदुःखपुण्यापुण्यविषयाणां भावनातः चित्तप्रसादनम् ॥

maitrī-karuṇā-muditā-upekṣānāṃ sukha-duḥkha-puṇya-apuṇya-viṣayāṇāṃ bhāvanātaḥ citta-prasādanam ||

_ Yoga Sutras of Patanjali I Samadhi Pada I Verse 33

"With the above sutra, Maharshi Patanjali has beautifully laid the Foundation of Self Realization, with simple practices of basic Yama and Niyama, one that teaches you a discipline on the inside and the other that acts as a social behavioral conduct, through cultivation of friendliness, compassion, joy and indifference to pain-pleasure, virtue-vice, the Consciousness becomes favorably disposed, serene and benevolent."

The spinning wheels of energies (Chakras) in our body, act as the centers that govern our certain prominent behavior, that apparently reflects in our Personality, today we are talking about our Second Most Prominent Chakra, the Sacral Chakra, the Svādhishthāna

As it’s name suggests, Svā (SELF) and Adhishthāna which refers to a Seat or residence. In our body, this is the junction to which your entire persona belongs, situated between your coccyx and sacrum, approximately two inches above your Mūlādhāra, this chakra governs the creativity in your actions and your works, the affection, pleasure, sex and procreative senses etc., that serve as an appearance to our personality.

This is what helps us control our moral behaviors, the fantasy and dreaming tendencies and how emotionally we mingle with our surroundings.

COLOR – Orange, signifying the joy, hope, flourishment, nourishment, energy and activeness

TATTVA – Water, signifying the purifying nature, softness and nourishment


SYMBOL – 6 Petal Lotus, signifying the six Kleshas / enemies or the obstacles an individual faces on the path of growth and personal development, namely, Kama (lust), Krodha (anger), Lobha (greed), Mada (pride/ego), Moha (attachment), Matsarya (jealousy)

ANIMAL – Crocodile depicting the lethargy

DIVINE – Lord Brahma and Devi Saraswati, one that depicts the Creation and Consciousness, the other one that is a Symbol of Purity, Intellect Knowledge and Viveka ( ability to discriminate)

SYMBOL – As it is very much related to our own SELF, depicted with a HALF MOON, signifying the female cycles, our emotions its frequent tendency of fluctuating and feelings

PRANA – Apana (exhalation / elimination / downward direction)

PLANE – Astral (Bhuvarloka)

PLANET – Mercury



MINERAL – Sodium

STONE – Beryl

CHARACTERSTIC – Passion, Pride, Envy, Doubt, Fantasy, Love, Will and actions

SENSATION – Fatigue and Tiredness

SENSE ORGAN – Sense of Taste, Tongue

FEATURE – Fluidity (Rasa)

TASTE – Salty

QUALITY – To move and Procreate (Chalana)


ORGAN – Sexual Organ, representing Creation and Reproduction

GLAND – Suprarenal Gland

PLEXUS – in Lower Abdomen, Hypo-gastric

ALTERNATE NAMES – Lower Abdominal


Awakening this Chakra also means activating the qualities that are governed by it, and this one can be simply awakened through the asana focusing on the coccyx and sacral region, and the ones that provide a nice stretch to it, like-

- Dhanurasana ( Bow Pose)

- Salabhasana ( Locust Pose)

- Bhujjangasana ( Cobra Pose)

- Chakrasana ( Wheel Pose)

- Setubandhasana ( Bridge Pose)

- Surya Namaskara ( Sun Salutation)


Get Inspired and Inspire the Rest !


bottom of page